Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Out West advice
Planning for a journey West, next September. I know for sure, because of time restraints, that we’ll be tag team driving out, with bikes in tow. I’m guessing the only option for a 2 bike trailer is UHaul? 1700 miles is quite a journey and want to make sure everything is secure.
Any experience out here in Wasserboxer land?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Where West? I have no experience towing bikes but it can't be any worse than towing my 7500# 30ft travel trailer. Big Grin

I think that the UHaul trailer is the most cost effective option although a utility trailer is not that expensive and can be outfitted to suit your tastes. Could be cheaper in the long run. Just have to have a place to store it.
Regards,
Grumpy Goat
2016 BMW R1200RS
2023 Triumph Tiger 900 Rally Pro
Colorado😬

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You might also consider checking in to one of the rental companies about renting a pickup where you could load the two bikes in the back and drive their vehicle saving 3400 miles on your own vehicle plus it gives you the security if you break down they should show up with another one to replace theirs that broke down. You can always find a ditch to back down in to or a hill side to load and unload the bikes so you don’t need a ramp to haul along. If they have an extended cab you have plenty of space inside the cab for your gear and the passenger seat usually folds back to they can sleep or relax in a better manner. Also ask your dealer if they have a trailer you can rent for 10 days as usually set up to haul bikes.
Darrell
2016 R1200RS
2022 R1250RT

Dave, Do you use Basecamp? If so, I'll shoot you some GPX files of my favorite AZ/NM rides
Wayne, definitely leaning towards the U-Haul option. Darrel, got the best land yacht (Suburban) for the job. And Mike, I've got Basecamp. Thanks for the replies!